Thrift Tip Tuesdays!

This post is written by Cassandra Friesen, an avid thrifter and MCC employee.

Each Tuesday I will post one thrifting tip so that you can thrift to your full potential!

Tip #2: Be patient and look through the entire rack

I know, I know…….you do not want to take the time to look through the entire rack of clothing. BUT, if you do, you are far more likely to find something great. By being patient and giving yourself sufficient time to thrift you will come out with better quality items.

4-clothing-rack

When I walk into a thrift shop I go to the section of what I want most that day. Am I going to a wedding and I want a dress? I head first to the dress section. Choosing the section of the item that you want the most first ensures that you will have the most patience for that section. Then, within the dresses go to your size first. Again, if there are 50 dresses (or pants, shirts, scarves, whatever…) then you have the most patience in what is most likely to fit. Then, FLIP THROUGH EACH ITEM. Finally, I go to the size up and down to see if anything has been sized incorrectly. Continue this pattern with other sections. Although this may seem daunting at first, it will quickly become natural. Two weeks ago I found 3 shirts for my husband using this technique!

* clothing rack photo from http://makingniceinthemidwest.com/2013/02/26/freelance-aint-free/

Leave a Reply

