Christmas Stockings Made from Thrift Shop Sweaters

My  husband and I have been married for almost 3.5 years, and have yet to create a Christmas stocking tradition. Every year I think to myself, “oh I will find the perfect stocking and hang it up over our non existent fire place”. Yet this never happens because life gets busy (and weirdly enough a fire place doesn’t magically pop up either).AnExtraordinaryDay-Repurposed-Sweater-to-Christmas-Stocking-Tutorial

I tried to find a stocking that I could buy, but personally, I am not into the Santa Claus cut outs or traditional red sock with white trim. So, this year I decided that I would try to make a stocking. Unfortunately, I am not super crafty so I needed something simple. As I browsed on pinterest I found the perfect idea that I hope to embark on this weekend–Christmas Stockings made from Thrift Shop Sweaters. The things I love most about it is that a) you are recycling b) getting creative and c) you can choose your own design to match your personal taste.

Click on the pictures below to take you to two  different blogs with their own  DIY instructions. They are both simple and easy to do.

AnExtraordinaryDay-Collage-Sewing-Christmas-Stocking-Tutorial  stocking 12

Have you made your own stocking? Take a pic and show us!

This post is by Cassandra Friesen, an avid thrifter and MCC employee

Leave a Reply

